Lewis Van Haney Philharmonic Prize Tenor Trombone Competition / Yamaha

For trombonists ages 25 and under (birth date of January 1, 1989 or later)

First Prize - YSL-871 alto trombone donated by Yamaha

General Rules and Requirements

Additional Rules

  • Past winners of the Lewis Van Haney Philharmonic Prize Tenor Trombone Competition are not eligible in the 2015 Haney Philharmonic Prize Tenor Trombone Competition.
  • The preliminary round list should be submitted as a single audio file, with all excerpts performed in the order listed.
  • Preliminary round excerpts may be recorded separately, but there may be no editing within an individual excerpt.

Preliminary Round Repertoire

All items must be recorded in the order listed below

  • Ferdinand David
    Concertino in Eb, opus 4, Mueller Edition , Movement 1, Rehearsal letter A to Letter D, beat 1. Perform without accompaniment. (Carl Fischer)
  • Ravel
    Bolero - Trombone 1 solo. Rehearsal #10 through downbeat of Rehearsal #11
  • Mozart
    Tuba Mirum from Requiem - Trombone 2, Beginning through measure 18.
  • Wagner
    Tannhauser Overture - Trombone 1. Rehearsal letter A to 18 measures after A.
  • Mahler
    Symphony No.3 - Trombone 1. 3rd measure of Rehearsal #13 to Rehearsal #17.
  • Richard Strauss
    Also Sprach Zarathustra - Trombone 1. 5th measure of Rehearsal #15 to Rehearsal #16; 9th measure of Rehearsal #50 to downbeat of Rehearsal #51

Final Round Repertoire

Excerpts to be selected from the Preliminary Round, in addition to the following:

  • Richard Strauss
    Die Frau Ohne Schatten Suite - Trombone 1. One measure before Rehearsal #15 through 7 measures before Rehearsal #18
  • Rossini
    William Tell Overture - Trombone 1, Rehearsal C through 9th measure of Rehearsal D.
  • Brahms
    Symphony No. 1 - Trombone 1. Rehearsal C through 15 measures after Rehearsal C

Past Winners

Year Winner School
1993 Jon Etterbeek Juilliard School of Music
1994 Darren McHenry Juilliard School of Music
1995 Stephen Lange Indiana University
1996 Norbert Lakzsko Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest, Hungary
1997 Mark Templeton Guildhall School of Music, London, England
1998 Garnett Livingston Juilliard School of Music
1999 Scott Parkinson Juilliard School of Music
2000 Jeffrey A. Gray Juilliard School of Music
2001 Darcio Gianelli Juilliard School of Music
2002 Wes Citron Manhattan School of Music
2003 Tenor - James Williams Juilliard School of Music
Bass - no winner
2004 Tenor - Robert Kastner
Bass - Dan West University of North Texas
2005 Tenor - Kyle Covington Juilliard School of Music
Bass - Matyas Veer Liszt Academy of Music-Budapest
2006 Tenor - Marques Young
Juilliard School of Music
Bass - Zachary Bond
Curtis Institute of Music graduate
2007 Tenor - Mark Davidson
Juilliard School of Music
Bass - Ilan Morgenstern
University of Michigan
2008 Tenor- Shachar Israel Juilliard School of Music
2009 Tenor- Kyle Mullins University of North Texas
2010 Tenor- Johanna Rubsam Vienna, Austria
2011 Tenor- David Binder Northwestern University
2012 Tenor- José Milton Vieira Leite Filho Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
2013 Tenor- Brian Santero Curtis Institute of Music
2014 Tenor- Joseph Peterson Northwestern University