Robert Marsteller Trombone Competition

For trombonists ages 22 and under (birth date of January 1, 1993 or later)

First Prize - TBA

General Rules and Requirements

Additional Rules

  • Live piano accompaniment is required. No pre-recorded accompaniments are acceptable.
  • The required repertoire should be submitted as a single audio file, with no editing within the submitted recording.
  • Past winners of the Robert Marsteller Tenor Trombone Competition are not eligible in the 2016 Marsteller competition.

Preliminary Round Repertoire

  • Sonata for Tenor Trombone and Piano, by Eric Ewazen, movement 3 (Southern Music)

Final Round Repertoire

  • Concertino d´hiver, by Darius Milhaud (Hal Leonard)

Past Winners

Year Winner School
1986 Brian Foote Florida State University
1987 John Dilutis Curtis Institute of Music
1988 Scott Bergeson Brigham Young University
1989 Douglas Wright New England Conservatory
1990 Chris Nigrelli Western Michigan University
1991 Jon Etterbeek Juilliard School of Music
1992 Alexander Fedianin Kazakhstan
1993 Barry Hearn University of Texas at Arlington
1994 Katie Kretschman University of Wisconsin
1995 Steve Wills University of Missouri
1996 Jed Hudson University of North Texas
1997 Nathan Zgonc Indiana University
1998 Chelsea French DePaul University
1999 Robert Lugosi Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest, Hungary
2000 Michael Lormand University of Southern Mississippi
2001 James Williams Juilliard School of Music
2002 Jonathan Lombardo Juilliard School of Music
2003 David Applegate University of North Texas
2004 Matthew Allison San Francisco Conservatory of Music
2005 Tim Higgins Northwestern University
2006 Matthew Knight Cambridge University
2007 Achilleas Liarmakopoulos Curtis Institute of Music
2008 Joshua Bledsoe Arizona State University
2009 Keith Dyrda McGill University, Canada
2010 Malcolm Williamson Eastman School of Music
2011 Timothy Hilgert Valdosta State University
2012 Csaba Bencze University of Pécs, Hungary
2013 John Romero Baylor University
2014 Alexander Walden Curtis Institute of Music
2015 Daniel Tellez Gutierrez Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock