Posted July 29, 2013

2013 Zellmer Competition Results

The Final Round of the 2013 Steven Zellmer Trombone Competition was held on May 17, 2013, in Minneapolis, MN, at the MacPhail Center for Music.

This year's Finalist Awards of $500 each were awarded to tenor trombonist, Evan Williams and bass trombonist, Jeriad Wood. Mr. Williams is a Bachelor of Music student of Dr. Bradley Palmer at Columbus State University and Mr. Wood is a Doctoral student of Nathaniel Brickens at the University of Texas-Austin.

This year's $1,500 Third Prize was awarded to returning Zellmer Finalist, Samuel Armstrong, a Bachelor of Music student of Joseph Alessi at the Juilliard School.

This year's $2,500 Second Prize was awarded to Amanda Hudson, a Master of Music student of Per Brevig at the Juilliard School.

This year's $5,000 Grand Prize was awarded to Brian Santero, a recipient of a Diploma of Music in Trombone Performance from the Curtis Institute, where he was a student of Nitzan Haroz. Mr. Santero has also benefited from studies with Norman Bolter and James Markey.

This year's Competition was adjudicated by Minnesota Orchestra Principal Trombonist, Douglas Wright, Second Trombonist, Kari Sundstrom, and Principal Tubist, Steven Campbell. The judges wish to congratulate all of the finalists as each performed at an extremely high level. The next Zellmer Competition will be held in 2015. Please, visit for latest information and updates regarding the Steven Zellmer Trombone Competition.