The International Trombone Association has seven awards it bestows on individuals, organizations, and orchestras. The individual awards are the ITA Award, presented every year to an individual who has greatly influenced the field of trombone, the Neill Humfeld Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes outstanding trombone teaching in our profession while honoring the teaching excellence of the late Neill Humfeld, the Legacy Circle Award, for exceptional accomplishments in the trombone community, the Lifetime Achievement Award , for contributions to the trombone profession over a long career, the Kenneth Hanlon Award, which recognizes individuals who contribute greatly to the ITA and the trombone world with a spirit of generosity and modesty that inspires while honoring the work of the late Kenneth Hanlon, and the President’s Award which is awarded at the discretion of the ITA President.

The Orchestra Recognition Award is given to an orchestra which has made a significant contribution to the artistic advancement of trombone performance and literature.

A Call for Nominations

Each year, the International Trombone Association presents awards to individuals and organizations—including those involved in performance, teaching, composition, arranging, conducting, and research—that have made profound, outstanding, and lasting impacts in furthering the Association’s mission. Two awards are presented annually—the ITA Award and the Neill Humfeld Excellence in Teaching Award. Three other awards—the Legacy Circle Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Orchestra Recognition Award—are presented from time to time. Nominations for 2024 awards are requested from the ITA’s membership. A one-page letter of nomination that details why a member believes a nominee should be honored with one of the Association’s awards may be sent to the Chair of the ITA’s Standing Committee on Awards at Criteria for selection may be found on the ITA website at:

All nominations are due by December 1 at which time the Standing Committee on Awards will prepare ballots to be voted on by the ITA Officers, Council of Past Presidents, and Board of Advisors. Winners shall be announced by January 15.