ITA Alto Trombone Competition

sponsored by Jürgen Voigt BrassVoigtBanner250x94

For trombonists ages 25 and under (birth date of January 1, 1995 or later)

First Prize – 2,000€ gift card for a Voigt Brass instrument

General Requirements

Recording Guidelines

  • Applicants must strictly follow the Recording Guidelines for the 2021 ITA Solo and Ensemble Competitions to avoid disqualification.

Competition Rules

  • Live piano accompaniment is required. While live, in-person collaboration is still preferred, a pre-recorded piano accompaniment will be allowed for the 2021 competitions cycle in the event that restrictions due to the COVID-19 pandemic do not make a live performance possible.
  • The required repertoire should be recorded as one complete, unedited take (no separate movements), and submitted as a single video file, recorded from a single, uninterrupted camera angle. Accepted file formats include: MP4, MPEG, MPG, MOV, AVI, WMV, M4V, FLV, WEBM, M2V
  • No editing of either video or audio is allowed.
  • No written signs, nametags or other written material is to be visible in the video.
  • Both performers should be clearly visible in the video throughout the performance, with the trombonist as the focal point. In the event both performers do fit in the frame, due to social distancing or use of pre-recorded piano accompaniment, the trombonist must still be completely visible throughout the performance.
  • The submitted file must not contain any identifying information. The video file should be named: “” (.mp4, etc.)
  • Past winners of the ITA Alto Trombone Competition are not eligible to enter the 2021 ITA Alto competition.
  • Co-Winners from the 2020 ITA Alto Trombone Competition are eligible to enter if still meeting age and other requirements.

Repertoire Requirements

Preliminary Round:

Joseph Boismortier – Sonata in C, arr. Slokar/Fucik (EMR)

Note: Applicants should take the first repeat of movement 2 and the first repeat of movement 4; all other repeats should be ignored

Final Round:

Eric Ewazen – Palmetto Suite, movements 2 and 3 (Theodore Presser)


Past Winners

Year Winner School
2009 Márton Kuna Music School of Kecskemét, Hungary
2010 Joshua Bledsoe Arizona State University
2011 Brian Santero Curtis Institute of Music
2012 Charlotte van Passen Conservatorium van Amsterdam
2013 Kurt Neubauer Janacek Academy of Music and Performance Arts Brno
2014 Jonathan Houghtling DePaul University
2015 Tobias Lang Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK)
2016 Therese Iversen Royal Academy of Music, Aarhus
2017 Pavlo Titiaiev Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music (Poland)
2018 Marie Nøkleby Hanssen Hochschule für Musik, Theater, und Medien, Hannover
2019 Evan Williams University of Texas at Austin
2020 Co-Winner András Bogács Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover
2020 Co-Winner Jamey Morgan Michigan State University
2020 Co-Winner Martin Simon Universität Mozarteum Salzburg