Lewis Van Haney Philharmonic Prize Tenor Trombone Competition

sponsored by TBA

For trombonists ages 25 and under (birth date of January 1, 1998 or later)

First Prize – TBA

General Requirements

Recording Guidelines

  • Applicants must strictly follow the Recording Guidelines for the 2024 ITA Solo and Ensemble Competitions to avoid disqualification.

Competition Rules

  • The required repertoire should be submitted as a single audio file, with no editing within the submitted recording. All excerpts must be performed in the order listed. Accepted file formats include: MP3, OGG, M4A, WMA, WAV, AAC, FLAC, AIFF, AIF. Video entries are not accepted for this competition.
  • Preliminary round excerpts may be recorded separately, but there may be no editing within an individual excerpt. All excerpts should be recorded at the same location with the same recording setup
  • The submitted file must not contain any identifying information. The audio file should be named: “VanHaneyEntry.mp3” (.wav, etc.)
  • Past winners of the Lewis Van Haney Philharmonic Prize are not eligible to enter the 2024 Van Haney competition.

Repertoire Requirements

Second Trombone Audition – all excerpts are Trombone 2

Preliminary Round

  • W.A. Mozart – Requiem, K. 626, Tuba Mirum, measure 1 to measure 18
  • Gustav Mahler – Symphony No.5. Movement I: 8 measures after [11] to 4 measures before [12] AND Movement II: 8 measures after [24] to [25]
  • Rimsky Korsakov – Russian Easter Overture, Rehearsal [M] through 14th bar of [M]
  • Rimsky Korsakov – Scheherazade, Movement II: 5 measures after [D] through [E]
  • Hector Berlioz – The Damnation of Faust, Hungarian, 1 bar before [4] through 2 bars after [5]
  • Final Round

Excerpts to be chosen from Preliminary Round repertoire, and the following:

  • J.S. Bach – Sarabande from Cello Suite No. 5, no repeats
  • Richard Strauss – Ein Heldenleben, 3rd bar of [60] through 6 bars after [65]

Past Winners

Year Winner School
1993 Jon Etterbeek  Juilliard School of Music
1994 Darren McHenry  Juilliard School of Music
1995 Stephen Lange  Indiana University
1996 Norbert Lakzsko  Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest, Hungary
1997 Mark Templeton  Guildhall School of Music, London, England
1998 Garnett Livingston  Juilliard School of Music
1999 Scott Parkinson  Juilliard School of Music
2000 Jeffrey A. Gray  Juilliard School of Music
2001 Darcio Gianelli  Juilliard School of Music
2002 Wes Citron  Manhattan School of Music
2003 Tenor – James Williams Juilliard School of Music
Bass – no winner
2004 Tenor – Robert Kastner
Bass – Dan West University of North Texas
2005 Tenor – Kyle Covington Juilliard School of Music
Bass – Matyas Veer Liszt Academy of Music-Budapest
2006 Tenor – Marques Young   Juilliard School of Music
Bass – Zachary Bond Curtis Institute of Music graduate
2007 Tenor – Mark Davidson   Juilliard School of Music
Bass – Ilan Morgenstern University of Michigan
2008 Tenor- Shachar Israel Juilliard School of Music
2009 Tenor- Kyle Mullins University of North Texas
2010 Tenor- Johanna Rubsam Vienna, Austria
2011 Tenor- David Binder Northwestern University
2012 Tenor- José Milton Vieira Leite Filho Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
2013 Tenor- Brian Santero Curtis Institute of Music
2014 Tenor- Joseph Peterson Northwestern University
2015 Tenor- Daniel Tellez Gutierrez Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock
2016 Tenor- Paul Radke Shepherd School of Music, Rice University
2017 Tenor- Joseph Dubas Civic Orchestra of Chicago
2018 Tenor- Harry Gonzalez Shepherd School of Music, Rice University
2019 Tenor- Evan Williams University of Texas at Austin
2020 Co-Winner Tenor- Nathaniel Hsu University of Texas at Austin
2020 Co-Winner Tenor- Timothy Maines Northwestern University
2020 Co-Winner Tenor- Jonathan McNeer Northwestern University
2021 Tenor- Felix Regalado Northwestern University
2022 Tenor- Tim Ouwejan Conservatory of Amsterdam
2023 Tenor- Lukas Helsel New England Conservatory