Leonello Capodaglio
Two Anthems:
trombone quartet

Massapequa, New York, United States
Publisher: Wiltshire Music Company and Cor Publishing
Date of Publication: 2016

Primary Genre: Trombone Ensembles - 4 trombones

Leonello Capodaglio (b.1945) studied composition, piano, harpsichord, and conducting in Venice and currently resides in Lendinara (Veneto, northern Italy). He has composed more than 350 works with performances in France, Germany, England, Belgium, Croatia, Russia, Japan, Canada, Bulgaria, Moldova, and the United States. Many of these have won international prizes and awards. He was the director of the state conservatory of Adria and has been principal conductor of several Italian chamber and symphony orchestras. The Two Anthems (Of Morning, Of Vespers) are traditional choral settings in a harmonic, melodic, and textural style, much rooted in a late 18th, early 19th century musical language. They pose no technical challenges, are performable by less advanced ensembles, and are appropriate for church services.

Reviewer: Karl Hinterbichler
Review Published June 15, 2023