Claude Debussy

Arranged by Ralph Sauer

unaccompanied trombone

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2014


Claude Debussy composed Syrinx, L.129, for solo flute in 1913. Syrinx was considered a crucial composition in the development of solo flute repertoire for its artistic freedom. Ralph Sauer has transcribed this unaccompanied work for trombone and for idiomatic reasons, lowered it a half-step from its original key. This work showcases the lyrical nature of the trombone and presents the performer with many decisions to make regarding interpretation. Written in tenor-clef with many passages in the extreme high register, e-flat2, this unaccompanied work is best suited for advanced level trombonists. Usually performed in under four minutes, Syrinx is a demanding but impressive work that challenges the performer technically and artistically.


Reviewer: Nathaniel Lee
Review Published January 31, 2019