Georges Bizet
Intermezzo & Farandole (from L’Arlésienne): arranged for bass trombone/tuba and piano

Arranged by Ralph Sauer

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2015


Ralph Sauer has arranged two numbers from Georges Bizet’s 1872 classic L’Arlésienne. The Intermezzo & Farandole are instantly recognizable by any seasoned musician; however, this version is best suited for younger players. The tessitura comprises two octaves resting between D and d1. The solo part moves in melodic, diatonic, and stepwise motions with a few exceptions in the Intermezzo. The work’s only technical consideration would be the speed of the Farandole’s consistent accelerando. Sauer’s arrangement provides educational opportunities to work on style, intonation, and collaboration with a pianist.


Intermezzo & Farandole’s energetic nature makes the work ideal for performance. The Intermezzo alternates between a majestic and lyrical melody. The standard phrase structure ensures accessibility for all audiences. The Farandole’s repetitive rondo form is augmented by frolicsome scale and arpeggiated passages. The light staccato theme pushes forward ending in a bright Molto vivace, sure to excite listeners. This arrangement will make a stylish contribution to studio recitals or a flashy encore for anyone.


Reviewer: Russ Zokaites
Review Published January 31, 2019