Johann Sebastian Bach
Chaconne: from Partita in D minor

Arranged by Philip Brink

four trombones

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2017

Grade 5


The late Ronald Stevenson defined the art of transcription as a recreation of an original work in the authentic voice of the new medium. This is certainly true of this resourceful transcription, which is based in turn on an arrangement by Brahms for piano, left hand. Its original 260 measures are compressed to 145 while a coherent structure is maintained. To have included more would be pushing the limits of endurance for many players. First part range is A to d2, second tops out at b1 and third at g1; range for bass is DD to f1. The high d2 occurs 12 times in the first part. Four measures of the bass trombone part are written in tenor clef, rising more than an octave above the third part. All the parts are challenging; this piece is suitable for advanced students and professionals. Philip Brink was formerly bass trombonist with the Calgary Philharmonic and currently plays with the Thailand Philharmonic.


Reviewer: Keith Davies Jones
Review Published January 31, 2019