Jules Massenet
Two Pieces from Op.11: for trombone and piano

Arranged by Ralph Sauer

N.p., ,
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2007


Jules Massenet (1842-1912) was a French composer who is known for his operas and oratorios. Two Pieces for trombone and piano is a transcription made by Ralph Sauer from Massenet’s opus 11, Three Pieces for Piano, and Four Hands. In the original composition for four hands, the lower octaves are played by the person on the left at the piano, which contains mostly ostinato patterns and accompaniment; the right two hands play melodic material. Sauer has extracted the melody from the right hand to be performed by the trombone player and most of the motives from the two left hands remain in the piano accompaniment. The first movement, Andante Sostenuto, is thirty measures long and sits in the high register, dipping to A and D. The second movement, Allegretto (scherzando) is in ABA form. The A themes contain a dance-like, dotted eighth-sixteenth-eighth note rhythm, which is challenging to play lightly at mezzo forte, not heavy like the Ride of the Valkyrie rhythm. The middle B section is short, still featuring the same rhythm, meant to be played dolce and mezzo piano. This arrangement is a great way to get more acquainted with Massenet’s music, beneficial supplemental studies for a more advanced student.

Reviewer: Matthew Driscoll
Review Published January 31, 2019