Anton Bruckner
Ecce Sacerdos Magnus : Arranged for brass choir

Arranged by Stuart P. O’Neil

3 trumpets, 2 horns in F, 3 trombones, euphonium, tuba

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2018

Score and parts


Originally conceived for SATB chorus, three trombones and organ, this motet was intended for performance in 1885 at Linz Cathedral on the 100th anniversary of the founding of the diocese, and to accompany the entry of the bishop. For some reason, however, it was not performed on that occasion, nor during Bruckner’s lifetime.


It is written in Bruckner’s ‘massive’ style, and its wide-spaced chords provide wonderful brass sonorities, fully exploited in this transcription, which is well-suited to a student ensemble of mixed abilities. Scoring is for 3 trumpets in B-flat, 2 horns in F, 3 trombones, euphonium and tuba, ten parts. No part is of more than moderate difficulty. Trombone parts are given in bass clef; range for first is d-g1, and for third, G-a. Trumpet 1 tops out at e-flat2 (concert). The original trombone parts have not been retained in this arrangement, which is set a fifth lower than the original score; first trombone tends to follow the choral tenor part. The original playing time of about six minutes has been reduced by omission of a repeated section. Stuart O’Neil teaches public school music in Kansas.

Reviewer: Keith Davies Jones
Review Published January 4, 2019