Michael Kibbe
Metal Music Op. 22: for brass quintet

Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Publisher: Potenza Music
Date of Publication: 2009


This four-movement work for brass quintet was written in 1993 and revised in 2009. Kibbe, Los Angeles-based studio woodwind instrumentalist, copyist, and composer, notes that this was his second venture into writing for brass instruments. Each movement carries the title and inspiration of metals that have been used to create brass instruments. However, with this in mind, his “Gold” and “Silver” movements would be more aptly entitled “Zinc” and “Nickel.”

Although there is an overarching similarity of Neo-Classical compositional style, each movement conveys a distinct character. The second movement is lively and sassy. The third movement is the most metrically simplistic, and creates a melancholy feel. The fourth utilizes much mixed meter, switching often from simple to compound meters, and creates a pompous and exciting setting. The first movement however, seems mismatched from the others in its musical intent. It is distinctly longer and incorporates two wildly different musical styles, one being a Hindemith-esque harmonic setting and the other, a slow jazz/swing feel.

Most of the parts have awkward page turns, and it is unclear in the third movement if the trombone is supposed to be muted. The parts to this fourteen-minute work don’t incorporate much rest, but it can be programmed by a good college quintet.

Reviewer: Cory Mixdorf
Review Published January 31, 2019