Gustav Mahler
Symphony No.3 :

Arranged by Jeremy Niles Kemptonc

Eight part trombone choir

, Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2017

Selections from the 1st movement arranged for eight part trombone choir. Score and parts

Primary Genre: Trombone Ensembles

Containing one of the most important trombone solos in the orchestral literature, Gustav Mahler’s monumental Symphony No.3 is no stranger to trombonists. Consisting of six movements and lasting between 90 to 110 minutes, it remains one of the longest symphonies in the repertoire. Trombonist, composer, and conductor Jeremy Niles Kempton has arranged sections of the first movement into a ten minute piece for 8-part trombone choir. Mahler’s first movement, titled “Pan Awakes, Summer Marches In” includes three iconic trombone solos, with the first of them included in Kempton’s arrangement. The solo is written in the first trombone part and includes English translations of Mahler’s specific markings. For ease and fluidity in the transitions, Kempton does not include any of the muted passages found in the original. Trombone 8, written for bass trombone, stays in the low and pedal registers throughout, descending at times to EE. Trombones 5, 6, and 7 may be covered by a tenor or bass trombonist. Trombone 1 is the most challenging part as it not only must play the famous solo, but must also serve as the lead voice in the majority of this arrangement, including a fortissimo d2 in the final measures. This arrangement can work well if you are programming chamber music as part of a solo recital or hosting a guest artist to perform with your college trombone choir.

Reviewer: Russell Ballenger
Review Published January 31, 2019