David Wilborn
Spring Cassation:
Euphonium and piano.

Orlando, FL, United States
Publisher: Wehr's Music House
Date of Publication: 2020

Score and solo part.

Primary Genre: Solo Materials

Dr. David Wilborn is Associate Professor of Music at Texas A&M University in College Station, where he teaches the low brass studio and small ensembles. He studied composition with Donald Grantham and trombone with Donald Knaub and John Marcellus. He holds the Bachelor of Music degree from the University of Texas at Austin, the Master of Music degree from the Eastman School of Music, and the Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Texas. His career is equal parts college professor, author, clinician and composer. The latter includes several significant works for trombone including Jazz Triptych for bass trombone & piano, The Gift of “Little G” for tenor trombone and piano, Push for trombone septet, San Gabriel for eight trombones, Four Southern Jazz Vignettes for trombone sextet, Fantasy On An Anglican Hymn for eight trombones, Dialogues for Eight Trombones and Excursions for Six Trombones, which was selected as the winner of the 2003 Allen E. Ostrander Trombone Choir Composition Prize. His trombone choir arrangement of the concert band classic American Overture by Joseph Willcox Jenkins was a featured selection by the Remington Trombone Choir at the 1996 International Trombone Festival in Las Vegas, Nevada. Wilborn performed the solo bass trombone part in the New York premiere of his Concertante Caprice with the Texas A&M University Wind Symphony in Carnegie Hall. His works are currently published by the International Trombone Association Press, Warwick Music, Kagarice Brass Editions, Grand Mesa Music Publications, ALRY Publications and Wehr's Music House.

Dr. Wilborn wrote the following about Spring Cassation: (It) was written at the request of Jeffrey Freeman, low brass professor at Prairie View A&M University. Written during the spring of 2014, the music captures the frivolity and joyful spirit of the season. These features are especially prevalent in the opening and closing thematic sections where a display of technical and virtuosic styles can be heard. The middle lyrical section can be interpreted as a reflection of the beauty in nature invoked by the spring season. Overall, the work is designed to display a wide range of playing styles and a testament to the versatility of characters available on the euphonium. Cassations were popular in the 18th century as entertainment music for social gatherings such as parties and soirees. These works, similar in character to the divertimento and serenade, were often performed by wind players especially for outdoor social gatherings.

Although originally conceived for euphonium and marimba, the published version is for euphonium (trombone) and piano. The trombone part takes a mature performer; technically it is playable by an advanced undergraduate level performer. The work is a fine display of the traditional, technical and lyrical capabilities of the trombone. The musical language is quite conservative in form, harmony, rhythm and texture. Performances of a number of Dr. Wilborn’s works are available on YouTube, giving the reader a good insight into his musical language. Print and paper quality are fine.


Reviewer: Karl Hinterbichler
Review Published July 1, 2021