Marco Bordogni
Melodious Etudes Nos.51-60:

Arranged by Ran Whitley

Trombone Quartet: four trombones: 3 tenor, 1 bass trombone

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2022

Score and parts.


These Bordogni etudes have been interestingly and creatively arranged for trombone quartet by Ran Whitley. The parts tend to be active and interesting in themselves, and generally are similar in “feel” to the original etude, with one exception: the bass trombone part. The bottom part tends to be primarily harmonic support, as fits the bass line. Bordogni's original melody is entirely contained in part 1.

What is the purpose of such an arrangement? I have spent some time thinking about how these etudes might be used, and I feel that the purpose might best be for use in quartet performances. It’s hard to see these quartets as useful for practice or technical development, since the original Bordogni “Rochut” studies suffice for that purpose. It’s possible that these etudes broaden the main purpose of the solo etudes to help develop the melodious aspect of an ensemble, which is well within the needs of such a group. 

Presumably the whole canon of Bordogni studies, as arranged by J. Rochut, are part of the project of which this set forms a part. This makes the series an interesting study for established and aspiring trombone quartets. In any event it is a worthy effort and should be enjoyable to play and to listen to!

Reviewer: Philip Brink
Review Published May 19, 2022