Johann Sebastian Bach
Prelude and Fugue in G minor:

Arranged by Harold A. Popp

Four trombones (divisi parts)

Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Publisher: H.A. Publishing
Date of Publication: 2017

Score and parts


Prelude and Fugue in G Minor is a trombone choir arrangement scored in four trombone parts with divisi passages. This keyboard transcription is approximately five minutes long, and is suitable for a collegiate level trombone choir. The first trombone part requires endurance. The highest note in the first part is b-flat1, but that part hovers around g1/a1 for extended periods. There are misprints in the first part that might be addressed in subsequent editions, mm.10 and 13: e-sharp instead of e-natural. The first two parts are given in tenor clef. The bass trombone part requires a strong low range, but can be taken up an octave without changing the character of the piece. The lowest note in the bass part is BB-flat, and strong flexibility is required as there are challenging intervallic passages in the lower octave between BB-flat and B-flat.

Reviewer: Sean Reed
Review Published January 31, 2019