Pavel Chesnokov
Salvation Is Created:

Arranged by Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov/Jim Tranquilla

Five trombones

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2016

Score and parts


In this publication, which is taken from the performance version of the group iTromboni, Jim Tranquilla combines an arrangement of the transcendent popular chant hymn Salvation is Created with interspersed quotes from Rimsky-Korsakov’s haunting trombone melodies in his Russian Festival Overture. The piece is arranged for five trombones consisting of one alto, three tenor, and one bass. While the addition of an alto trombone to the standard trombone quartet instrumentation might make some less-advanced groups hesitant to attempt the piece, the nature of the piece itself, which features slow tempi and long note values, reduces the difficulty that could be caused by the less-familiar instrument. In fact, this is a great piece with which to begin to learn the alto trombone.

As is typical with many slow, lyrical works, the difficulty is not found in notes and rhythms but in blend, style, and emotional projection. The harmonies are beautiful and the work is a great representation of chant hymns from Eastern Christianity. While arranged for quintet, much of the piece is split into duets and trios, only using all five parts in the fuller cadence points that end the sections. Performance demands are not excessively rigorous, but do require performers with solid tone quality and good intonation, and an alto and a bass player that have security in their upper and lower ranges, respectively. The range of the alto trombone extends from e-flat1 to e-flat2; the tenor trombones range from a comfortable F up to g1, and bass trombone from GG up to g.

This is a beautiful arrangement of two exquisite melodies that allow performers to showcase the sublime, rich tone of trombones. The piece is available for instant download from

Reviewer: James Adams
Review Published January 31, 2019