2021 Annual General Meeting

The 2021 ITA Annual General Meeting will be held online and the meeting will be open to ITA members in good standing. The AGM will take place on Zoom on June 27 at 2 PM US EDT/20:00 Central European Time.

A number of 2021 Award winners will be introduced and honored during the meeting.

On June 24, all ITA members eligible to vote will receive a registration link by email. After registering, a link to the meeting will be sent in a separate email.

We hope to see you on June 27!

The ITA Executive Board, Officers and Directors

Epic excerpt battle underway

Logo for Opera Excerpt BattleHelp launch one trombone excerpt to ultimate victory!

Every day in June, a pair of trombone opera excerpts will be published here (and on Facebook). When you visit each day’s battle, listen to the two excerpts and vote for your favorite. Each day’s winning excerpt proceeds to the next round.

Many thanks to Roger Cutts, Principal Trombone of the Welsh National Opera, who created videos in celebration of International Trombone Week during COVID lockdown. His looped recordings tell the story of many operas from the perspective of the trombone section. Thirty-two of his opera excerpts will face off during the championship.

Everyone is invited to participate.

ITA Artist Zoom Session: Chicago Symphony Low Brass


We are extremely excited to host the magnificent Chicago Symphony Low Brass Section on our next ITA Artist Zoom Session, Sunday June 13! We hope you will join the hang. There are going to be lots of interesting topics and opportunity to ask questions.

The Zoom Session with the Chicago Symphony Low Brass will be on Sunday June 13 at 4 PM US EDT / 20:00 GMT / 22:00 Central European Time.

The Artist Zoom Sessions are free, and open for anyone interested; young, old, professionals, students – it does not matter! The only thing we ask you to do is register so we know you will be joining.

more info and registration>>

ITA Awards 2021

The ITA Awards Committee is pleased to present Charles Vernon with the 2021 ITA Award. The ITA Award is presented to one individual every year who has greatly influenced the field of trombone in performance, composition, arranging, teaching, conducting, research, and/or service.

The Awards Committee is also pleased to present the 2021 Neil Humfeld Award to David Sporny. The Neil Humfeld award recognizes one teacher each year who has demonstrated an exceptional level of excellence in their work.

The 2021 Lifetime Achievement is awarded to Trevor Herbert, and the Legacy Circle Awards go to Keith Brown, Russell ‘Big Chief’ Moore and Joannés Rochut.

Please read more about these outstanding artists and their achievements.

Read more>>

April ITA Journal

The April 2021 issue of the ITA Journal has been published online and is now available in the members-only section. The print copies will mail on April 15 and will soon be underway to our members with print memberships. Featured in the April issue is, among others:

How to be Safe: Aerosol Studies and Trombone Performance
by Benjamin Yates

International Trombone Association Awards for 2021
by Ava Ordman

The Story of a Trombone: by Mrs. Frank M’Carthy commentary
by Douglas Yeo

Slide Lubrication: Friend or Foe?
by John D. Upchurch

2021 ITA Solo and Ensemble Competitions: Preliminary Rounds Results
by Donny Pinson

General News,The President’s Column, Orchestral Sectional, Wellness Note, Perspectives on Longevity, Philosophies, Practices, and Pedagogies of Performing Professionals, Pedagogy Corner, Audio/Video/Literature Reviews and much more.

Read it here




International Trombone Week 2021

This is ITW's logo imageInternational Trombone Week’s official dates are April 11–18, 2021… but (per usual) we’ll be celebrating all month long.

Please join us! Everyone is welcome to celebrate, and we’ll be spotlighting some activities.

Read more, and find ideas and free resources, on ITW’s official page.

Peter Steiner – interview

Our latest addition to the ITA Video section is an exclusive interview (from last year’s ITF in Muncie, IN) with Italian Peter Steiner!

At the age of 23, Peter was appointed Trombonist of the Vienna State Opera and Vienna Philharmonic for the 2016-2017 season. Prior to that engagement he served as Principal Trombonist with the Colorado Symphony for the 2014-2015 season. He has performed as guest trombonist with many top European and US orchestras. In 2019 he was honoured as a Prize Winner at the XVI International Tchaikovsky Competition in Russia.

ITA members can watch the full 30 minute interview here

New online Literature Reviews archive

After offering print reviews of new material for more than forty years in the International Trombone Association Journal, we are excited to expand to the world wide web via the ITA website www.trombone.net. Expanding to the internet offers advantages and solves growing problems as media capability and expectations of readers grow and change.

The volume of literature we handle has outgrown our ability to publish reviews in a timely fashion in the quarterly print journal. Our online column enables us to publish reviews within about three months of receipt. This is a great advancement that brings quality evaluation of new material much closer to its release date.

Our online column is searchable by everyone, not just ITA members, introducing our instrument and its repertoire to everyone from researchers to surfers.

Limits of space are always a concern in the print column. Not so online where reviewers express their evaluations and opinions free of word counts and other space saving limitations.

The archives can be found under the Journal tab in the navigation menu.