Gilberto Gagliardi Tenor Trombone Competition

sponsored by Schilke Music ProductsSchilke logo

For trombonists ages 18 and under (birth date of January 1, 1999 or later)

First Prize – $2000 gift certificate towards the purchase of a Schilke Tenor Trombone

General Requirements

Recording Guidelines

Competition Rules

  • Live piano accompaniment is required. No pre-recorded accompaniments are acceptable.
  • The required repertoire should be submitted as a single audio file, with no editing within the submitted recording. Accepted file formats include: MP3, OGG, M4A, WMA, WAV, AAC, FLAC, AIFF, AIF. Video entries are not accepted for this competition.
  • The submitted file must not contain any identifying information. The audio file should be named: “GagliardiEntry.mp3” (.wav, etc.)
  • Past winners of the Gilberto Gagliardi Tenor Trombone Competition are not eligible to enter the 2018 Gagliardi competition.

Preliminary Round Repertoire

  • Paul Véronge de la Nux – Concert Piece (Southern Music or Leduc)

Final Round Repertoire

  • Lars-Erik Larsson – Concertino (Gehrmans)

Past Winners

Year Winner School
2005 Christopher Guilfoyle Curtis Institute of Music
2006 Isaac Washam Oklahoma State University
2007 Hana Beloglavec Kalamazoo Loy Norrix High School
2008 Malcolm Williamson Eastman School of Music
2009 Christian Larsen Horsens Statsskole, Aarhus, Denmark
2010 Derek Hawkes Plano Senior High School, Plano, TX
2011 Juan Zuniga Boston University
2012 Daniel O. Murphy Oberlin Conservatory
2013 Dani Tellez Gutierrez Hochschule fur Musik und Theater Rostock
2014 Brian Wendel The Juilliard School of Music
2015 Connor Rowe Cabrillo High School
2016 Marie Nøkleby Hanssen Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien, Hannover
2017 Pavlo Titiaiev Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music (Poland)


ITA Solo Competition Previous Winners

Year Winner School
1973 Jan Moeller Boston, Massachusetts
1974 John Veselack Illinois Wesleyan University
1975 Brad Bobcik Millikin University
1976 Dave Foley Harvard University
1977 Rock Ciccarone Youngstown State University
1978 Stan Jeffs Shoreline Community College
1979 Steve Witser Eastman School of Music
1980 Jeff Budin Northwestern University
1981 Randy Campora Florida State University
1982 Doug Johnson Michigan State University
1983 Michael J. Finton University of Michigan
1984 John Dilutis New England Conservatory
1985 Eric Johnson Shenendohowa High School, New York
1986 Sara Smith Catalina High School, Texas
1987 Brian K. McCommon Brevard College
1988 Michael Allen University of New Mexico
1989 Dan Mattson Michigan State University
1990 Amitai Pelleg Israel
1991 Jonathan Rosenberg Eastman School of Music
1992 Kanat Akhmetov Kazakhstan
1993 Aaron Kadrmas Interlochen Arts Academy, Michigan
1994 Joshua Richman Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1995 Clifford Moore II Florida State University
1996 Ryan Williams Brigham Young University
1997 Bryan Aaron Florida State University
1998 Jonathan Lombardo Interlochen Arts Academy, Michigan
1999 Anthony Wise Curtis Institute of Music
2000 Ward E. Stare Juilliard School of Music
2001 Dan West University of North Texas
2002 Benjamin Green Juilliard School of Music
2003 Achilleas Liarmakopoulous Rio Mesa High School, Camarillo, CA
2004 Joshua Bledsoe Florida State University