ITA Trombone Quartet Competition

Sponsored by the ITA, Cherry Classics, Encore Music Publishers, C. Sharpe Editions

First Prize – $1000 Cash Prize, 4 Gift Certificates to Cherry Classics, 4 Gift Certificates to C. Sharpe Editions, 4 Copies of The One Hundred

Combined ages of members may not exceed 100 (no individual member may exceed 28 years of age; birth date of January 1, 1995 or later)

General Requirements

Recording Guidelines

  • Applicants must strictly follow the Recording Guidelines for the 2024 ITA Solo and Ensemble Competitions to avoid disqualification.

Competition Rules

  • The required repertoire should be recorded as one continuous take, and submitted as a single video file, recorded from a single, uninterrupted camera angle. Accepted file formats include: MP4, MPEG, MPG, MOV, AVI, WMV, M4V, FLV, WEBM, M2V
  • No editing of either video or audio is allowed.
  • No written signs, name tags or other written material is to be visible in the video.
  • All four performers should be entirely and continuously visible in the submitted video throughout the performance.
  • The submitted file must not contain any identifying information. The video file should be named: “QuartetEntry.mp4” (.mov, etc.)
  • Members of past winning quartets are not eligible to participate in the 2024 ITA Trombone Quartet Competition.
  • No quartet personnel changes for the final competition round are permitted; any exception must be granted in advance of the final round by the ITA Competitions Committee. If a finalist group is unable to be present at the ITF, an alternate group may be selected. Presentation of a valid photo ID will be required of each performer immediately prior to the final competition.

Repertoire Requirements

Preliminary Round:

David Wilborn – Elysian Fields (Cherry Classics)

Final Round:

Ludwig van Beethoven – Drei Equale (ed. Gordon Cherry – Cherry Classics)


A piece of Quartet’s choice, not to exceed 9 minutes

Past Winners

Year Winner School
2002 Cincinnati Conservatory Trombone Quartet David Vining, coach
2003 Corpus Trombone Quartet, Ferenc Liszt Academy (Budapest) Tividar Sztan, coach
2004 Novus Trombone Quartet David Waters, coach
2005 CT3 Trombone Quartet (Northwestern University) Royce London, coach
2006 Spitfire Trombone Quartet (Guildhall School of Music and Royal Academy of Music — London)
2007 UNT TF Trombone Quartet (University of North Texas) Tony Baker, Jan Kagarice & Vern Kagarice, coaches
2008 Bell Street Four (University of North Texas) Tony Baker, Jan Kagarice & Vern Kagarice, coaches
2009 Maniacal 4 Trombone Quartet (University of North Texas) Jan Kagarice, coach
2010 Seretean Trombone Quartet (Oklahoma State University) Paul Compton, coach
2011 Quattroforte Trombone Quartet (Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest, Hungary)
2012 SubitoBones, University of Texas, Austin Charles Villarubia, Nathaniel Brickens, coaches
2013 Northside Quartet, Austin, TX Charles Villarrubia, Nathaniel Brickens, coaches
2014 Thein Brothers Quartet, Amsterdam, The Netherlands Ben van Dijk, coach
2015 Atlantic Trombone Quartet, Conservatorium van Amsterdam, The Netherlands Pierre Volders, Remko de Jager, J&oumrgen van Rijen, Ben van Dijk, coaches
2016 Capriccio Trombone Quartet (Japan) no school affiliation
2017 Boston Based no school affiliation
2018 The eNq Northwestern University
2019 The Regent Trombones Royal Academy of Music, London
2020 Co-Winner Bone-afide Royal Academy of Music and Royal College of Music, London
2020 Co-Winner NMH Trombone Quartet Norwegian Academy of Music
2020 Co-Winner Trombone Quartetto Boon Tokyo College of Music
2021 The Chulobones Texas A&M University-Kingsville and the University of Texas at Austin
2022 Diminishing Returns Trombone Quartet Northwestern University
2023 Swiss Cross Quartet Zürcher Hochschule der Künste