Anton Bruckner
Missa Brevis (Kronstorfer Messe): WAB 146 arranged for four trombones

Arranged by Ralph Sauer

trombone quartet

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2015


The original mixed accapella mass setting for this arrangement was written in 1843-44 while Bruckner was a school teacher’s assistant in Kronsdorf, Austria, just south of Linz. It contains four simple short settings of the Kyrie, Sanctus, Benedictus, and Agnus Dei, all in the familiar harmony and voice leading we associate with Bruckner. The arrangement has been transposed down from the original D minor to A minor and the parts are rhythmically and melodically easy. The first trombone part will demand a reasonable command of high register in soft dynamics and bass trombone would be preferable for the fourth part, though it could be played on tenor if needed. It provides a great opportunity for high school or college trombone groups to work on the challenges of intonation, phrasing, ensemble and dynamic control. Missa Brevis could be played as a quartet or trombone choir and is an excellent addition to the current Bruckner arrangements currently available.

Reviewer: Timothy Howe
Review Published January 31, 2019