Armand Russell
Sonata: for trombone and piano
for trombone and piano

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2011


Sonata for Trombone and Piano is dedicated to trombonist, Jeannie Little. The work has three movements, entitled Prologue, Variants, and Epilogue. The piece bifurcates between thoughtful, expressive passages and sections full of dance-like, rhythmic energy. Expressive indications such as “Delicacy to contention,” “Adversarial” and “Conciliatory” suggest a somewhat programmatic reading is possible. All of the movements exhibit somewhat complex rhythmic patterns, but nothing extremely difficult. The compositional style of the piece is that of a contemporary sonata that will be most at home in a solo recital at a conservatory or other school of music. Articulations, dynamics, and other expressions are clearly marked. Cup and straight mutes are used at times for different colors. The piece ranges from G to c2, but most of the playing is in the lower and mid-range. It could function ideally between pieces that are more physically taxing in a solo recital. The score suggests this will enable a soloist to bring out a range of emotions, as well as idiomatic characteristics of trombone playing.


Reviewer: Sean Reed
Review Published January 31, 2019