John Hadden
Something Old, Something New: Ten Duets for Trombone/Euphonium:

Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Publisher: Potenza Music
Date of Publication: 2016

score and parts

Primary Genre: Trombone Ensembles

John Hadden is a tuba player who has composed a number of works for his instrument. He stated the following about these duets:

As a member of the low brass family, I often find myself humming famous melodies that the back row does not ever get the chance to play. Ironically, the only thing missing from some of these melodies is the majestic sound of our gentle giants. As many of my low brass brothers and sisters would likely share this sentiment, it was time that these melodies were graciously set on our stands! Something Old, Something New: Ten Duets for Trombone/Euphonium takes several of these legendary lines and alters them in all sorts of ways so that every low brass player may bellow out the classics. Of the set, half are completely original works and half are based on orchestral excerpts that musicians everywhere recognize and cherish.

The following is the order and musical derivation of the duets:
  1. Original
  2. Original
III. Horn Concerto No.1, Strauss
  1. An American in Paris, Gershwin
  2. Original
  3. Symphony No.5, Mahler
VII. Original VIII. Symphony No.4 in F Minor, Tchaikovsky
  1. The Rite of Spring, Stravinsky
  2. Original
These short duets (most time in at around one minute) are all traditionally tonal and cover a variety of styles. Rhythmically, melodically, technically, and range-wise they are playable by intermediate level performers. The physical layout, paper quality, and printing are superb.  

Reviewer: Karl Hinterbichler
Review Published November 9, 2019