Gardell Simons
Celebrated Solos :

Arranged by Gregory Cox, compilier

trombone or euphonium and piano

, Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2015

Score and solo part

Primary Genre: Solo Tenor Trombone - with piano

Gardell Simons was a trombonist active in the first part of the 20th century. He was a featured soloist with John Philip Sousa’s band, principal trombonist of the Philadelphia Orchestra, and ended his career as the principal trombonist of the NBC Symphony under the direction of Arturo Toscanini. Simons also composed a number of works for trombone and band to feature himself, many of which were written in 1915. Gregory Cox, instructor of trombone at Western Washington University, has compiled five of Gardell Simons’s solos into a new collection, including Atlantic Zephyrs, Simons’s most famous solo, along with The Gondolier, Polka Caprice, The Volunteer, and The Weldon Polka. As part of Cherry Classics’ “Vintage Brass Collection,” all five solos are presented in their original format with piano accompaniment. Players familiar with the works of Arthur Pryor will find similarities in the light and playful solos presented in this collection. Distinct from the Pryor solos, Simons’s solos are written at a more accessible level and are approachable for younger players. These Celebrated Solos are all written in bass clef and do not extend above c2. In each piece, sections alternate between rubato melodies and technical passages and include a written out cadenza. Additionally, optional lines are written for those seeking a greater challenge. Any one of these five solos will serve well as a “show-piece” during a recital, or as a planned encore.

Reviewer: Russell Ballenger
Review Published June 13, 2023