Jacques Offenbach

Arranged by James N. Meador

Four trombones

Cedartown, Georgia, United States
Publisher: Potenza Music Publishing
Date of Publication: 2008 / 2016

Score and parts

Primary Genre: Trombone Ensembles - 4 trombones

From Offenbach’s Orpheus in the Underworld, this popular dance has been arranged for the Bones Apart trombone quartet. Except for the range of the first trombone part, ascending to d2, technical difficulty is dependent upon the chosen tempo. Scored in G major, dynamics and articulations are appropriate. The fourth part descends to GG and is afforded no rest. The melody is shared among the other parts until the final push. As the arranger observes, “…there is no place to breathe.” If you are looking for an audience pleaser that will not require much rehearsal, this work is for you.

Reviewer: David Stern
Review Published June 15, 2023