Ruggerio Leoncavallo
Serenade and Impromptu: arranged for trombone and piano

Arranged by Ralph Sauer

trombone and piano

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2016


Leoncavallo (1857-1919) is best known for his opera I Pagliacci (1892). Serenade was originally written for ‘cello and piano/harp and published in 1898. It is written in an unpretentious and pleasant romantic style and makes an easy transition from ‘cello to trombone. It is presented in the original key of F major; range is F-c-sharp2. The highest passage is designated optional 8ve lower for two measures; the piece then tops out at a1. Serenade is dedicated to Los Angeles artist, Edwin Potts.

Impromptu, Sea Breeze (Brise de mer) was first published in 1906, also for ‘cello and piano, and is also written in an easy-going, lyrical style. It is marked Molto sostenuto (tranquillo) and is presented in D major, range A-d2, original key E major. The cadenza is at a higher difficulty level than the rest of the piece. With an optional cut of its most difficult measure, it tops out at a1. Other optional octave transpositions are available to reduce fatigue in the higher register; the highest ‘required’ note is a single a-flat1. This piece contains incentives for students at progressive levels of development. At the highest level, it could be quite a virtuosic showpiece. Except for one measure in the cadenza of the Impromptu, bass clef is used throughout both pieces.


Reviewer: Keith Davies Jones
Review Published January 31, 2019