Giuseppe Concone
Sixteen Duets: from selected Vocalises

Arranged by Ran Whitley

for trombone or euphonium duet

Vancouver, BC, , Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2017

Grade 4


Giuseppe Concone (1801-1861) was a composer of opera but most celebrated in his day as a voice teacher and known today for his vocal exercises, solfeggi, and vocalizzi, which are more melodious and interesting than the usual pieces of this sort. He published 178 duet studies; these selections are drawn from Opp. 9, 10, 12, and are set in C, F, G, B-flat, A-flat, and E-flat/gm. They range in length from 24 measures to over 100. Each is written to address specific aspects of technique: legato and staccato, sostenuto, appogiatura, articulation of 16ths, breath control over long phrases, etc. The parts are of approximately equal difficulty; range for 1st is A-flat to b-flat1, for 2nd, G to a-flat1. There is a wide stylistic range represented here. Markings for individual selections range from Allegro brillante through Andantino amabile, Andante cantabile, and Andante sentimentale to Lento patetico. Playing times range from under one minute to over three minutes. There are no great difficulties sui generis; the value of these studies is above all in development of even tone production and a fluent and expressive singing line. For those still aspiring to perfection in these qualities, they will be most useful. Dr. Whitley is Professor of Music Education at Campbell University, NC.


Reviewer: Keith Davies Jones
Review Published January 31, 2019