Vladislav Blazhevich
Concerto No. 2 in D-flat: arranged by for trombone and piano

Arranged by Gerald Felker

arranged by for trombone and piano

Delevan, New York, United States
Publisher: Kendor Music, Inc.
Date of Publication: 2015

Primary Genre: Solo Tenor Trombone - with piano

Vladislav Blazhevich is well known to trombonists as the author of several pedagogical works that are still in widespread use, such as the Clef Studies, Concert Duets, and Sequences. Born in Russia in 1881, he was a trombonist, teacher, conductor, and composer. Graduating from the Moscow Conservatoire in 1905, he soon thereafter became solo trombonist in the Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra where he remained until 1928. He was recognized as the finest trombonist in Russia and professor of trombone at the Moscow Conservatory from 1922 until his death in 1942. A prolific composer for trombone, he penned 13 Concertos, Twenty Miniatures for Trombone and Piano, and Five Concert Pieces. Of these works the Concerto No.2 and Concert Piece No.5 receive the most frequent performances. More complete information on his life and work is available on: Blazhevich - The History of Selected Works by Andrey Kharlamov: ITA Journal; July 2008, Vol. 36 Issue 3, p.30 and on the Jay Friedman website:

Thundering parallel octaves and extended arpeggios are often calling cards in Russian romantic piano music and make the piano accompaniment to the Concerto No.2 technically more difficult than the trombone part. The trombonist needs good control, beautiful singing tone, stylistic imagination, and good legato to bring this concerto to life.  There are several recordings as well as performances on YouTube that give a good idea of the musical style of the piece. The Concerto is in the public domain, and available in its original Russian edition from a number of sources:                                                                              

Trombonist, Dr. Gerald Felker, who holds degrees from the Crane School of Music at SUNY Potsdam (NY), and Stony Brook (NY) University, arranged this Kendor publication. He is a band director in the Cold Spring Harbor School District on Long Island (NY) and has authored a number of trombone related publications through Kendor. This is however not an arrangement in the traditional sense, but more aptly termed an edition. It does not stray far from the original Russian publication, adding suggested metronome markings, rehearsal numbers, articulations, and making minor dynamic changes. The general layout, printing, and cover page are all well done.


Reviewer: Karl Hinterbichler
Review Published June 15, 2023