Johann Schein and Georg Frideric Handel
See, the Conquering Hero Comes and Paduana: arranged for brass quartet

Arranged by Ken Piotrowski

B-flat trumpet, horn, trombone, tuba

Massapequa, New York, United States
Publisher: Cor Publishing Company
Date of Publication: 2018

Score and parts

Primary Genre: Brass Ensemble - 4 brass

These are functional,  accessible works. It would be helpful if alternate horn/trumpet 2 and low brass/tuba parts were included to allow for flexible instrumentation. Having mentioned this, it should be noted that the tuba part contains octave adjustments not included in the original music, the horn part could easily be transposed to a low trumpet part, and parts could be reformatted to fit on one page. Appropriate dynamics and articulations have been added. Rhythms and ranges are within a young high school ability; trumpet to g2; horn to e2; trombone to e1; tuba to a-flat.

Taken from the last half of the chorus from Judas Macabeus (HWV 63), Piotrowski adds a repeat to See, the Conquering Hero Comes creating a rondo form. This is transposed from G to F, making it more accessible. Originally composed in 1617, Banchetto musicale is a collection of instrumental suites and the Paduana (pavanne) was scored for four krumhorns. This has been transposed from the original key of C to F (again accessibility), and while some rhythms have been changed at the end, they do not detract from the aesthetic of the music.

No explanation is provided as to why these two works are published in one collection. With cadences clearly occurring at repeats, these are highly recommended for service or ceremonial events where a flexible ending is needed and minimal rehearsal is available.

Reviewer: David Stern
Review Published June 18, 2023