Gustav Mahler
Marvelous Mahler Symphonic Suite:

Arranged by James Haynor

10-part brass ensemble: 4 B-flat trumpets, 2 F horns, 2 trombones, 2 tubas

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2020

Score and parts.

Primary Genre: Brass Ensemble - 6+ brass (choir)

Haynor has penned a collection of moments from Mahler that will surely please every brass player. In order, the following excerpts are arranged in contrasting styles with effective transitions: Urlicht from Symphony No.2, Movement 1 from Symphony No.1, Adagietto from Symphony No.5, Nachtmusic from Symphony No.7, Finale from Symphony No.5, Langsam from Symphony No.2, and Finale from Symphony No.5. The ending is somewhat abrupt.

Scored as a double brass quintet, ranges are reasonable with two moments of concern in horns 1 and 2 (b2) and trumpets 1 and 3 (b2). While there are not significant technical issues, all of the musical challenges and rewards of Mahler are present. Haynor has a distinguished career as a trumpeter and an extensive repertoire of arrangements to his credit.

Reviewer: David Stern
Review Published June 24, 2023