Twelve Hymn Preludes and Offertories:

Arranged by Ran Whitley

Brass quartet: 2 B-flat trumpets, horn sub for trumpet 2; 2 bass clef instruments (trombone, euphonium, tuba); B-flat treble clef alternate parts and tuba sub for part 4

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Publisher: Cherry Classics Music
Date of Publication: 2020



Twelve Hymn Preludes and Offertories includes the following:
  1. Coronation by Oliver Holden All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name
  2. Finlandia by Jean Sibelius Be Still My Soul
  3. Holy Manna by William Moore Brethren, We have Met to Worship
  4. God of our Fathers by George W. Warren Blessed is the Nation
  5. Nicaea by John B. Dykes Holy, Holy Holy
  6. Hankey by William G. Fischer I Love to Tell the Story
  7. Neumark by Georg Neumark If You Will Only Let God Guide You
  8. St Denio (Traditional Welsh Tune) Immortal, Invisible, God Only Wise
  9. Bethany by Lowell Mason Nearer, My God to Thee
  10. Lyons by Johann M. Haydn O Worship the King
  11. Lobe Den Herren (Strasund Gesangbuch,) Praise to the Lord, the Almighty
  12. Bradbury by William B. Bradbury Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us
The basic scoring is for two trumpets in B-flat and two trombones in bass clef. Substitute parts are provided for horn in F (parts 2 & 3), Euphonium in B-flat (parts 3 & 4) and Tuba (part 4), so a large number of permutations are possible. The arrangements are clearly intended for church use, not as recital repertoire. As a guide to planning a worship service, the Biblical texts with which each hymn is usually associated are given. The source of these selections is not indicated; the chosen keys may differ from those found in various hymnals. Dr. Whitley is Professor of Music at Campbell University in Angier, NC.  

Reviewer: Keith Davies Jones
Review Published March 13, 2021